Awards for public service

The Department of Premier and Cabinet (DPC) is responsible for coordinating, or has significant involvement in the following awards which recognise outstanding public service.

Public Service Medal

The Public Service Medal (PSM) is a prestigious, internationally recognised award within the Australian Honours and Awards system.

The PSM recognises outstanding service of public sector employees. Outstanding service can be shown through:

  • service excellence to the public, or to external or internal clients
  • innovation in program, project or policy development
  • leadership, including a member of a team
  • achievement of more efficient processes, improved productivity or better service delivery.

Receiving a PSM is an honour, with only 100 recipients awarded nationally each year. NSW recipients are awarded at an investiture ceremony hosted by the Governor of NSW on behalf of the Governor-General. PSM recipients can use the post nominal 'PSM' to formally acknowledge their achievement.

The PSM is awarded in the name of the Governor-General of the Commonwealth of Australia. Nominations are invited twice a year for announcement on Australia Day and the Queen's Birthday.

All local, state and Commonwealth government public sector employees are eligible for the PSM. The award is available to any public sector employee regardless of grade or age. However, long service alone is not enough reason for a nomination.

Secretaries and Chief Executive Officers are encouraged to consider nominating employees who deserve official recognition for their outstanding service.

Closing dates

Nominations for the PSM must be received by DPC by the close of business on the closing date to be considered for the nextannouncement.

  • Australia Day Honours List (26 January) - closing date 1 August each year
  • Queen's Birthday Honours List (June) – closing date 1 February each year

If the closing date falls on a weekend, then nominations will be accepted until close of business on the Monday immediately following.

Frequently asked questions (PDF, 746 KB)
PSM nomination guidelines (PDF, 803 KB)
Public Service Medal nomination form (PDF, 460 KB)

NSW Service Medallion

The NSW Service Medallion is presented by the Premier and awarded to employees who have completed 40 or more years of excellent service for the NSW Government.

The NSW Service Medallion is commonly referred to as the 40 Year Service Medallion.

Frequently asked questions
Criteria and guidelines
Nomination form (DOC, 151 KB)

More information

Contact Protocol and Community Engagement on (02) 9228 5188 or email if you have any questions about these awards.